Different states of mind

Did you know that by practicing Yoga, that you are making a sustained effort in raising your consciousness level? In describing the Patanjali’s sutra 1.2 (The cessation of the fluctuations of the mind is Yoga), sage Vyasa names five states of mind –

. Disturbed
. Dull
. Distracted
. One-pointed
. Mastered

For an excellent discussion of the different states, please visit swamiji.

[From a Feb 2006 email sent to students]

Thank you for your comments. Comments are moderated before they are published.